The Korey Brodsky Band put on a great evening of Bluegrass entertainment this past Friday (5/30/14) as the last HVBA Showcase Concert for the 2013-2014 season. Korey made his guitar work look effortless, and enjoyed sharing the spotlight with Sofia Chiarandini on fiddle, and in vocal duets. Anchored by steady rhythm delivered by his Dad, Rick Brodsky, on upright bass, and backed by Dick Neal on guitar, mandolin, and banjo, the group delivered solidly on old favorites, and also several original Richard Neal songs.

Disclaimer: This is my first CD review and I do not claim any expertise in bluegrass, bluegrass history or the Osborne Brothers. That said, the Osborne Brothers - Nashville is a great CD - start to finish. Apparently it was released by Pinecastle records as the fourth CD in a series documenting the Osborne Brother’s career. This is the final CD meant to document their sound at the height of their career in the mid-1970's after having established themselves in Nashville. The liner notes say that the seven tracks on the album recorded in the 1970's are previously unreleased. They got lost in the mix when the Osborne Brothers split with MCA/Decca at that time.

I saw Volume 5 at Merlefest and was immediately struck that I hadn’t of heard them before. Great musicians, very nice presentation, and some great story songs and ballads—a very complete package all around.

But (you could sense this coming, couldn’t you) this album, The Day We Learn to Fly is a bit of a departure for them in that it’s their first release of entirely gospel songs. All the things I appreciated of the band when I saw them live are here. “Nothing But the Water” is a great a cappella piece showcasing the strength of the vocal strength of the group. The production is crystalline, as is the playing and the arrangements.

1. Say Goodbye – Michael Dave and Chris Eldridge
2. Doe Re Me – Woody Guthrie
3. The Danny Thomas
4. Promontory Point
5. Single String Medley
6. Belated Weeding Hoedown/Angelina Baker
7. Ocracoke Lullabye
8. Great Big World/ Purple Trees of Colorado
9. Joy
10. I Wonder Where You Are Tonight
11. Lost
12. Wild Bill Hickok
13. Swag Bag Rag

Full Disclosure: These guys are friends of mine. I have a soft spot for 1-4-5 country style and honky-tonk music as opposed to the “new-grass” minor chord improvisation that sounds like a band that's tuning up.

That being said, Long Steel Rail, a quartet four-some of twin fiddles, pedal steel, telecaster quack, and slap happy walking bass, mandolin, guitars, put on a show that went by all too quickly, with some of the smartest originals that I have heard in a long while. With Eric Rosi-Marshall as front-man vocalist, David Gandin on bass, Ambrose Verdibello on fiddle, telecaster, banjo, and mandolin (who knew he could play all those instruments?) and “Fooch” Fischetti on fiddle and pedal steel played their hearts out on bluegrass, with a welcome (for this guy) touch of electrified twang.


<<  March 2012  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Support Our Sponsors